Resources
resources

Is My Pet Suffering?

Quality of Life Scale
Common Signs of Pain in Dogs and Cats

Can You Afford a Pet?

From Money Geek and Chris Woolston

Books

For All Ages:

Tear Soup: A Recipe for Healing After Loss by Pat Schwiebert, Chuck DeKlyen

For Children:

Cat Heaven by Cynthia Rylant
Dog Heaven by Cynthia Rylan
When a Pet Dies by Fred Rogers

For Adults and Teenagers:

Paw Prints in the Stars: A Farewell and Journal for a Beloved Pet by Warren Hanson
Goodbye, Friend: Healing Wisdom for Anyone Who Has Ever Lost a Pet by Gary Kowalski
Coping with Sorrow on the Loss of Your Pet by Moira Anderson Allen

Websites

Pet Loss Support:

Association for Pet Loss and Bereavement: http://aplb.org
The Argus Institute: http://www.argusinstitute.colostate.edu
The Pet Loss Support Page; Ten tips on Coping with Pet loss, http://www.pet-loss.net
Pet Loss Grief Support Website: http://petloss.com
Animal Hospice- Compassionate Crossings: http://www.animalhospice.org
Heal From Pet Loss, Karen A. Litzenger, MA, LPC: http://www.HealFromPetLoss.com
Pet Loss Support Page: http://www.pet-loss.net
Veterinary Wisdom for pet parents: http://veterinarywisdompetparents.com/resource_center

Pet Cemetaries:

Agape Pet Services, Boonsboro, MD: http://agapepetservices.com/
Valley Pet Cemetery, Williamsport, MD: http://www.valleypet.net/cemetery.html
Resthaven Memorial Gardens, Pet Services: http://www.resthaven.us/services-planning/pet-services/overview/

CD’s

Susan Raimond – Calming Harp Music CD’s: http://petpause2000.com

Pet Loss Support Hotline

540-231-8030

Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6-9 pm (free service) (Messages can be left at anytime and a return call will be made as soon as possible.) Sponsered by Virginia-Maryand regional College of Veterinary Medicine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


What People are Saying About Us




"I wanted to thank you for your compassion, kindness, and wonderful care that you gave to Buster and I in his final weeks of life. When I am through grieving this loss your kindness will be a wonderful memory as well as the 10 good years I had with this beautiful creature. "

Cathy,
Frederick, MD